Assigning Tickets Walkthrough

During the ticket buying process for New York Comic Con this year, you will need to assign your tickets to a unique Fan Verified profile. Last year, you could do this after you bought your tickets. This year we’re requiring you to do this as you checkout. You will not be able to checkout until this step is completed.

To help prepare you for this step, we’ve included a walkthrough below of what the page will look like and the possible scenarios you’ll face. Take a look and make sure you’re prepared!

This is what the page will look like once you have tickets in your cart and you move forward through the checkout process. Let’s say you’re buying two Thursday tickets.

This is what the page will look like once you have tickets in your cart

From the dropdown you will select whether the first ticket is for an ‘Adult’ or a ‘Kid’. When you select ‘Adult’, another open field will appear that will ask you for the Fan Verification email address that should assigned to this ticket – whether you’re assigning this ticket to yourself or someone else.

From the dropdown you will select whether the first ticket is for an ‘Adult’ or a ‘Kid’.

For the general on-sale, you can assign anyone to a ticket who has a Fan Verification profile.

Now let’s say the second ticket you’re buying is for a kid ages 6-12 (remember kids 5 years old and under are free!). When you select ‘Kid’ from the dropdown, another open field will appear and ask you the age of the kid at the time of NYCC. You will select that age (options are 6-12). Please be prepared to show proof of age onsite if requested.

What if you try to be sneaky and purchase a ticket for a friend who doesn’t have a Fan Verification profile. Nice try, but when you enter their email address you’ll see this error message pop up and you won’t be able to complete your purchase until the ticket is assigned to someone with a Fan Verification profile or removed from your cart.

Now let’s say you’re being sneaky and during the presale you try to purchase a ticket for a friend who doesn’t have a Fan Verification profile from 2016.

THIS IS IMPORTANT: If you need to remove the ticket from your cart you need to cancel your entire order. This means that the tickets you reserved for yourself will also be cancelled. You will then be brought back to the main page (not the virtual queue but the page where you choose your tickets) to select your tickets again. There is a chance that during this time the tickets you had reserved for yourself could now be sold out. DON'T LET THIS HAPPEN TO YOU. Avoid it at all costs by making sure that during the presale you're:

  1. Only buying tickets for friends who have been Fan Verified
  2. Talking to anyone else who in your squad to make sure you're not double buying tickets for someone. This cancel order process also applies if you try to assign someone to a ticket that's already been assigned. More on that soon

If you receive the error message and they are Fan Verified from 2016, it probably means you typed their email address incorrectly. It’s super important that you have their correct email address ready to go prior to buying tickets. Make sure you grab that now so you don’t get this message!

Oh look! You tried to skip assigning your tickets.

Oh look! You tried to skip assigning your tickets. No such luck. Fill in the empty field and then you can move forward. As we said, you will not be able to complete your purchase until all tickets are assigned to someone who is Fan Verified.

Uh oh! The person you’re trying to assign to this ticket has already been assigned to a ticket on this day!

Uh oh! The person you’re trying to assign to this ticket has already been assigned to a ticket on this day! We understand that you’ll rally your squad to see who gets through the virtual queue first and then have that person buy your tickets. This is totally fine by us, but make sure you’re in communication! Only one person should be buying and assigning tickets. The system will know when someone’s already been assigned to a ticket and will give you this error message.

THIS IS IMPORTANT: If you need to remove that ticket from your cart because the person you're buying for already got through and assigned themselves to the ticket then you need to cancel your entire order. This means that the tickets you reserved for yourself will also be cancelled. You will then be brought back to the main page (not the virtual queue but the page where you choose your tickets) to select your tickets again. There is a chance that during this time the tickets you had reserved for yourself could now be sold out. DON'T LET THIS HAPPEN TO YOU. Avoid it at all costs by making sure that you're in communication with your friends and family.

 “But wait!” you ask with a quizzical brow. “If we can only be assigned to one ticket, how can we go to NYCC all four days?” You can only be assigned to one ticket per day. You can assign yourself or someone you’re buying a ticket for to at least one ticket per day. You just can’t assign yourself to two tickets on the same day (ie. You buy two Friday tickets and try to assign yourself to both).

“But wait!” you ask with a quizzical brow.

We hope that helps! If you have any questions, hit up our customer service superheroes at inquiry@nycomiccon.com.

Sponsors & Friends of the Show

We use cookies to operate this website and to improve its usability. Full details of what cookies are, why we use them and how you can manage them can be found by reading our Privacy & Cookies page. Please note that by using this site you are consenting to the use of cookies.